Meet the European Digital Champions

EIF members only


On the occasion of their next meeting in Brussels in December, EIF will welcome the European Digital Champions with a Cocktail Reception in the European Parliament. It will be a great opportunity for EIF members to meet and congratulate them.

A Digital Champion is appointed by each Member State to help them promote the benefits of an inclusive digital society. The European Council agreed in December 2011 that the Digital Single Market was an area of growth potential for the European Union and Vice-President Kroes asked the College to take up the challenge set by the Council. On 14 February 2012, President Barroso wrote to Member States and asked them to take action to make the Digital Single Market a reality: one way to do this is for each country to appoint a Digital Champion.

Digital Champions work with citizens, communities and businesses to exploit the growth potential of the digital economy (by helping individuals to enhance their IT skills, by ensuring that the public sector becomes more efficient and customer-friendly and by helping businesses to embrace new technologies which will allow them to be more productive and competitive at home and across borders). They develop initiatives in their own countries to get people more digital. By ensuring regular contact between the Champions, the European Commission provides a platform to discuss and compare action at grass-roots level, and mobilises citizens and businesses to take advantage of the digital economy.

EIF Cocktail Reception: - 17/12/2012

Welcome and introductory remarks:

Pilar del Castillo, MEP and EIF Chair


Linda Corugedo Steneberg, Director Cooperation, DG CONNECT, European Commission

Remarks by the Digital Champions

Ales Spetic (Slovenia)

António Murta (Portugal)

Björn Ottersten (Luxembourg)

Gergana Passy (Bulgaria)

Gilles Babinet (France)

István Erényi (Hungary)

Jan Gulliksen (Sweden)

Kestutis Juškevicius (Lithuania)

Lars Frelle-Petersen (Denmark)

Linda Liukas (Finland)

Martha Lane Fox (UK)

Ondrej Felix (Czech Republic)

Paul-André Baran (Romania)

Peter Pellegrini (Slovakia)

Philip Micallef (Malta)

Roberto Sambuco (Italy)

Saskia van Uffelen (Belgium)

Stelios Himonas (Cyprus)

Tineke Netelenbos (NL)

Wlodek Marcinski (Poland)

Exchange of views with participants
Download programme


This website uses cookies to improve your experience on this site. Some of the cookies we use are essential for parts of the site to operate. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.